Skip to content

It’s no secret that the government observes different holidays than many of us. Furthermore, the IRS observes holidays applicable to the District of Columbia, which can also throw a curveball.

Here’s the list of legal holidays observed by the IRS in 2023:

  • January 2—New Year’s Day (observed)
  • January 16—Birthday of Martin Luther King, Jr.
  • February 20—Washington’s Birthday
  • April 17—District of Columbia Emancipation Day (observed)
  • May 29—Memorial Day
  • June 19—Juneteenth National Independence Day
  • July 4—Independence Day
  • September 4—Labor Day
  • October 9—Columbus Day
  • November 10—Veterans Day (observed)
  • November 23—Thanksgiving Day
  • December 25—Christmas Day

If your state observes a holiday not on the list above, the IRS only recognizes it if the IRS office where you’re required to file is located in that state. So for federal deadlines, it’s safest to rely the list above.